An Arrow Prayer

Arrow prayers are found in many places. Here is one from the Psalms.

An older person against a blue sky

And now that I am old and gray-headed, O God, do not forsake me, * till I make known your strength to this generation and your power to all who are to come.

Psalm 71:18 The Book of Common Prayer

“‘Arrow Prayer’ is a term used to describe a prayer which is offered quickly in the moment. Prayers of thanksgiving often come in the form of arrow prayers. Arrow prayers are also helpful in times of distress. ‘Help me, God!’ ‘Holy one, watch over me.’ ‘Walk with me Jesus, for I am afraid.’ These arrow prayers are also prayers of praise and thanksgiving for they recognize God’s on-going presence in daily life.”

Be well. Do good. Pay attention. Keep learning.

“Arrow Prayer” source: From a paper written by Jane E. Vennard “Exploring a Life of Prayer” Retrieved from the internet 23 Jan 2010: http://www.religion-online.org/showarticle.asp?title=296

Author: Daniel Rondeau

I am a husband and father and an Episcopal Priest (from the Diocese of San Diego; "Retired" due to illness).

Leave a Reply

