Write a letter to God

One woman’s experiences of writing a letter to God.

5 Marks of Love Study 2017

The activity for the first week: write a letter to God.

“Slowly writing out our words of love for another person can be a meditative practice that connects us in a deep way. This week, spend some time hand-writing a letter to God. What would you say? How might you express your love for God in words?”

Here is one response to the activity, posted today (3/4/17). Hannah Tadros was asked to share her experience with the activity of writing a letter to God (described above). May her experience (of writing four letters) give you encouragement in your letter-writing activity:

[The four letters] were all over the place. My reluctance, my fear, and after I sat with it a little bit my nostalgia, and kind of longing, and that feeling of missing God, and missing that intimacy that I feel like I have run away from a lot. So that’s where the exercise went for me. It went all over the place. I found many different responses in me to the thought of being God’s beloved, and I kind of put them all down and left them up to God. Read the entire response.

– Hannah Tadros

Be well. Do good. Pay attention. Keep learning.

Use the “Leave a Reply” section to add your thoughts and comments. ~Fr. Dan

Author: Daniel Rondeau

I am a husband and father and an Episcopal Priest (from the Diocese of San Diego; "Retired" due to illness).

Leave a Reply

