The Lord is my Shepherd

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me …

 

Beside still waters

Psalm 23 King James Version

The Lord is my shepherd;*
I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures; *
he leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul; *
he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his Name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil; *
for thou art with me;
thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies; *
thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, *
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

The Book of Common Prayer, 476-77

Memorized by many, especially as children in Sunday School, Psalm 23 in the King James Version is a prayer remembered for a lifetime. As a pastor I have been with those who are dying, barely conscious, sometimes not “in their right mind” and as I begin to recite this version of the Psalm, the peace, the green pastures, the still waters become palpable. Often the one dying would mouth the words of the Psalm with me. ~Fr. Dan

Be well. Do good. Pay attention. Keep learning

Image: GraphicStock.com

Author: Daniel Rondeau

I am a husband and father and an Episcopal Priest (from the Diocese of San Diego; "Retired" due to illness).

Leave a Reply

